California No Fault Auto Insurance
Free Auto Insurance Comparison
Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
UPDATED: Feb 29, 2012
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.
Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.
If you live in California, you do not have to worry about having no fault insurance coverage. In fact, California is one of many states that use the Financial Responsibility Law. This law is to make sure that drivers will be able to pay any damages they cause if they are at fault in an accident. Drivers in California are required to carry insurance that will provide coverage for damages to others who are not at fault in an accident, but are not required to carry insurance coverage for their own damages, including injuries and vehicle repairs. The other goal the State has for this type of insurance is that it will help to keep uninsured drivers off the roads.
Even though it is not required in California, you can still have no fault insurance if you want it. No fault insurance coverage ensures that you have coverage for expenses following an auto accident, no matter who is at fault. Even if you are the cause of the accident, you will still be able to take care of your medical expenses, including time missed from work and hospital expenses. With no fault insurance, you will be covered for the following expenses:
- Basic Medical Coverage (80% of all reasonable expenses, including surgical, x-ray, dental and prosthetic services)
- Lost Wages (for a certain period of time as noted in individual policies)
- Replacement Services (child care, maid service, etc. for stay-at-home moms and others who work from home)
California Auto Insurance Laws
When you live in California, you need to carry a certain amount of insurance in order to be able to drive legally in that state. The minimum liability limits are as follows:
- $15,000 for bodily injury to one person in an accident
- $30,000 for bodily injury to more than one person in an accident
- $5,000 for property damage resulting from an accident
Drivers are to contact their local DMV (Department of Motor Vehicles) to inform them that they do have the right amount of insurance coverage. If you cancel your insurance, the insurance company is required to notify the DMV, and your vehicle registration will be suspended until you purchase a new insurance policy and can show proof of insurance.
It is actually recommended that California drivers purchase more insurance than the required minimum amount. This amount may not cover all of the expenses involved when you are at fault in an accident, but if you have additional coverage, you will not have to worry about this. For instance, if you are in an accident and the other vehicle is valued at $15,000, your $5,000 liability insurance is not going to cover all of the expenses, and you will have to pay the rest out-of-pocket. Having higher limits and additional insurance products will provide you with the protection you need.
The best way to get great deals on auto insurance is to see where the best deals are. This involves getting quotes from many different insurers. You will see that not all insurers offer the same products at the same rates and that some are much less expensive than others.